Friday, April 19, 2019

MANKATO (April 19, 2019) — The Mankato Clinic Foundation has chosen the 2019 recipients of the J. Scott Sanders M.D. Memorial Scholarship. The three winners have been notified. Normally only one scholarship is awarded annually, but this year three students will each receive $2,000 toward their college tuition.

The winners will be announced in May. We thank all of the applicants for taking the time to write thoughtful and inspiring essays on how character has been important in achieving their accomplishments, how it will be a key cornerstone of their future and how they recognize character in others.

The scholarship honors J. Scott Sanders, one of Mankato Clinic’s most beloved physicians, pulmonologists and critical care specialists, who died in May 2006 after a courageous battle with cancer. Mankato Clinic Foundation has developed the J. Scott Sanders M.D. Memorial scholarship for high school seniors. Dr. Sanders’ character was renowned in all aspects of his life, which resulted in an unforgettable and lifelong impact on others.

For more information, visit J. Scott Sanders M.D. Memorial Scholarship