Wednesday, November 08, 2017

To support organizations that share its mission, the Mankato Clinic Foundation has approved $34,218 in grants to nine deserving organizations within the area.

Receiving grants for quarter four are: MRCI WorkSource, Adventure Education ($1,800), Prairie Winds Middle School, snack cart ($2,500), Lutheran Social Services of Minnesota, senior nutrition ($3,000), Project for Teens, integrating tobacco resistance skills into P4T curriculum ($5,418), Boys and Girls Club of Rochester, Mankato Club ($10,000), Feeding Our Communities Partners , expansion of Power Pack Program ($3,000), Junior Achievement, BizTown ($1,500), Minnesota Brain Injury Force, Inc. ($1,000) and Mankato Area Lifelong Learners ($1,000).

Mankato Clinic physicians provide the majority of the Foundation funding as a way to give back to the community by providing support to organizations which strive to improve health and wellness in the communities they serve. Since 2008, the Mankato Clinic Foundation has provided more than $1,355,519 in grants and scholarships to worthwhile organizations, programs and projects. 

Grants are awarded on a quarterly basis and are considered through an application process. More information and applications can be found at The next grant application deadline is Dec. 1.

About the Mankato Clinic Foundation

A small, dedicated group of physicians started the Mankato Clinic Foundation in 1965, making it one of the oldest foundations in Minnesota. Since that time, the Foundation has expanded its reach by supporting community health events and offering educational health-related programs to the community. The foundation receives the majority of its funding from Mankato Clinic physicians, along with giving by Mankato Clinic staff and the greater Mankato community.

Senior District Manager of Junior Achievement Jaci Sprague accepts a donation from the Mankato Clinic Foundation on behalf of the organization to be used for their BizTown Program. She is pictured L-R with Coty Bruender, Sara Will, Marcia Bahr and Nancy Pfeifer.